One idiot light, two switches switched...



One idiot light, two switches switched...

Postby DorianL » July 24th, 2014, 8:55 am

And a partridge in a pear tree...

Hey All,

I'm working on the rebuilding my dash. I have two illuminating switches + one idiot light that I want to put in plain sight (Alt idiot and by law, fog light switch must be visible) but NOT cluttering my dash

Any ideas for location?

Thanks!

D.
DorianL

User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: January 29th, 2009, 11:43 am
Location: Belgium (Europe)

Re: One idiot light, two switches switched...

Postby 87vette81big » July 24th, 2014, 10:01 am

Mount it under the dash on a custom built panel.
On the Steering Column.
If you had a Rollbar mount them overhead.
Mount in Console.

Underdash & Column my Picks. Race Car style.
87vette81big

User avatar
 
Posts: 3278
Joined: February 28th, 2012, 12:34 am
Location: Central Illinois

Re: One idiot light, two switches switched...

Postby DorianL » July 24th, 2014, 10:36 am

Yes - I agree. My picks as well. I hadn't thought of the steering column.
DorianL

User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: January 29th, 2009, 11:43 am
Location: Belgium (Europe)

Re: One idiot light, two switches switched...

Postby Indycars » July 24th, 2014, 11:49 am


Which car is this for?

Rick
Too much is just enough!!!

- Check Out My Dart SHP Engine Project: viewtopic.php?f=69&t=3814
- Need a Dynamic Compression Ratio Calculator: viewtopic.php?f=99&t=4458
Indycars

User avatar
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 4424
Joined: May 25th, 2010, 8:58 am
Location: Yukon, OK

Re: One idiot light, two switches switched...

Postby DorianL » July 24th, 2014, 4:15 pm

Indeed, the Ghia!

Image

I'm trying to leap it as minimalist as plane possible
DorianL

User avatar
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: January 29th, 2009, 11:43 am
Location: Belgium (Europe)

Re: One idiot light, two switches switched...

Postby Indycars » July 24th, 2014, 5:39 pm


It sure would be easier if I could sit down in the driver seat, but that's not going
to happen, so ......

A switch panel like the one below mounted in the console or hanging under the
dash. For the idiot light, that could also go in the switch panel. Just drill the right
size hole and wah lah !!!

At WiringProducts you tell them exactly how you the panel labeled and they do that,
then ship it.


2 Switch Illuminated Round Rocker Switch Panel. Each
switch location is labeled with the wording of your choice. Switches are illuminated
and work with 12 volt systems only. Each switch can handle up to 20 amps. Switch
faceplate is 1/8'' plastic. Dimensions for this panel are 2"H x 2.7"W

$26.95


http://www.wiringproducts.com/2-positio ... panel.html
http://www.wiringproducts.com/illuminat ... tch-panels

PanelSwitch_200x200.jpg


More food for thought!

http://www.12voltguy.com/Multi-Switch-Panels/


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Rick
Too much is just enough!!!

- Check Out My Dart SHP Engine Project: viewtopic.php?f=69&t=3814
- Need a Dynamic Compression Ratio Calculator: viewtopic.php?f=99&t=4458
Indycars

User avatar
Forum Admin
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 4424
Joined: May 25th, 2010, 8:58 am
Location: Yukon, OK


Return to Interiors/trim/dashes etc.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron